Frequent question: Do motorcycles need inspection in VA?

Does Virginia require motorcycle inspections?

The State of Virginia requires annual motorcycle inspections to ensure road worthiness and safety. These inspections apply to all vehicles. Annual motorcycle inspections cost $12 (as of 2016).

What is required to ride a motorcycle in Virginia?

You must register your motorcycle with the DMV and have valid insurance. You must also have a securely fixed license plate. The Virginia motorcycle helmet law says that all riders must wear a helmet that meets certain minimum requirements. Riders must also wear eye protection or have a windshield.

Is Virginia doing away with vehicle inspections?

The bill will go into effect July 1, 2020. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Northam issued an executive directive suspending the enforcement of the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Program from March 12, 2020, to July 31, 2020.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Do you need a license to drive a moped UK?

What vehicles require inspection in Virginia?

Virginia Vehicle Inspection Checklist

  • Check the tread depth. …
  • Check your lights. …
  • Check your mirrors. …
  • Check your horn. …
  • Check your windshield. …
  • Check your dashboard for any warning lights. …
  • Listen for any unusual noises.

How much does it cost to register a motorcycle in Virginia?

Motorcycle Registration

If you own and operate a motorcycle in Virginia, you must have a Virginia title, registration card and license plate. The registration fee is $26.75. You may select a personalized plate for an additional $10 per year.

Can you get pulled over for no inspection sticker in Va?

An expired inspection or registration sticker can only get you pulled; however, it has to be at least four months late.

Can you ride a motorcycle with a permit in Virginia?

A motorcycle learner’s permit allows you to learn to operate a motorcycle. If you are under age 18, you must obtain and hold a Virginia motorcycle learner’s permit for at least nine months. You cannot carry passengers with a motorcycle learner’s permit. …

Is it illegal to ride a motorcycle without a shirt in Virginia?

Virginia Motorcycle Gear Requirements

Virginia has no minimum requirement about what gear and clothing you must wear. However, you should keep some serious safety considerations in mind. … Likewise, do not wear synthetic clothing. It can melt to skin and cause severe burns.

Do motorcyclists have different rules?

Motorcycles are considered motor vehicles, which places them into the same category as cars. This means they’re generally held to the same rules of the road as all other vehicles. … Just like car drivers, bikers must obey speed limits and make full stops at red lights and stop signs.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I get a motorcycle license plate in PA?

How old does a car have to be to not need inspection in VA?

Nearly Every Vehicle Needs an Inspection Each Year

Antique vehicles that are 25 years or older and registered as an antique with the DMV do not have to be safety inspected, unless you drive the vehicle regularly. New automobiles purchased in Virginia are also exempt from safety inspections for one year.

How much does a Virginia state inspection cost?

Fast and Friendly Yearly State Inspections. Please note: Effective July 1, 2019 the new fee for the Virginia State inspection will increase from $16.00 to $20.00. Gov. Ralph Northam signed HB 2514, which increases vehicle inspection costs from $16 to $20.

How long can you drive with an expired inspection sticker in Virginia?

Virginia Code §46.2-1157 states that “[n]o law-enforcement officer shall stop a motor vehicle due to an expired vehicle inspection sticker until the first day of the fourth month after the original expiration date.”

Does a farm use vehicle have to be inspected in Virginia?

Va. Code § 46.2-341.4 Based on federal and state law, these vehicles require a pre-trip inspection.

Will a check engine light fail inspection in Virginia?

An illuminated check engine light won’t cause you to fail inspection, but it is often a signal of issues going on under the hood that could result in a failed inspection. To be on the safe side, get any dashboard lights diagnosed before your inspection so you know what’s going on.

Is Virginia enforcing state inspections?

Now that the State Police have resumed enforcing State Inspections, we are continuing to take precautions to protect our customers and staff from the virus. Virginia Tire & Auto is taking the following steps to ensure the health and safety of our customers and employees: Frequently cleaning commonly touched surfaces.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you learn to wheelie a motorcycle?